0.6% – and I can’t hardly breathe


I’ve been sick off and on for about two weeks now. I took the day after New Years off (wondering if everyone at work assumed I was just sleeping off a bender.) I felt fine the next day, but then got knocked down with some harsh dry heaves, then had another couple days feeling fine if you don’t count the migraine in between, and now I’ve been plugged up all weekend, with my nose unable to decide whether it’s drippy, gunky or cleared at any one time.

I’m currently soaking black eyed peas for chili that we’re going to throw jalapenos in. In the absence of wasabi, horseradish or hot mustard I’m hoping that might blow a clear airway out my sinuses.

Continuing with the 5000 Question Survey:

21. Are you more of a giver or a taker?

I truly believe it is better to give than to receive, and I’m not even talking about the flu or a punch in the nose. However, I don’t often have much I can give in the first place, except maybe unsolicited advice.

22. Do you make your decisions with an open heart/mind?

Probably. You’ll need to take the comments from the Peanut Gallery into consideration.

23. What is the most physically painful thing that has ever happened to you?

I’ve been fortunate never to have broken a bone (a hairline fracture on my pinky hardly counts) – I have’t been shot, stabbed or burned beyond a blister. I caught a direct blast of second-hand mace at Old Thekla when the OPD thought it was alright to subdue one person within a crowded building that way (I was watching them arrest the struggling guy, and thinking to myself “Awesome, they’re getting out the mace HACK HACK HACK HACK”)

But the worst has been a broken tooth that finally went balls out trying to take me down last year. I was eating 3200mg of Ibuprofin a day for over a week, and then exactly one year ago this Tuesday (though it was Sunday last year) the infection went in for the kill – uncontrollable convulsions, chattering my teeth so hard I cracked the bad one further, barely able to stumble in any set direction, shaking so hard my hands were useless – when the 911 Squad came to our house the guy started with “Sir? Sir! You’re going to have to control yourself” to which I was too far gone to say “If I could control this we wouldn’t have even called you, you idiot.”

Now, there’s going to be some who are able to beat my infected tooth (which Bright Now Dental in Lacey left alone without even bothering to prescribe me Keflex or something) and to them I say it’s not a contest, sorry you went through your pain and I don’t envy you.

24. What is the most emotionally painful thing that has ever happened to you?

Those close to me die every now and then. Or come very damn close. Can’t quite go beyond that.

25. Who have you hugged today?

Besides Daisy, no one. I’m probably not contagious anymore but I still feel snotty and wouldn’t shake hands at Church this morning.

26. Who has done something today to show they care about you?

Tammy, Daisy and even Richard the Meeser.

27. Do you have a lot to learn?

I hope I never stop learning.

28. If you could learn how to do three things just by wishing and not by working what would they be?

A Advanced auto mechanic

B Canning

C Read and speak Latin

29. Which do you remember the longest: what other people say, what other people do or how other people make you feel?

What they say is the easiest thing to replay in my head.

30. What are the key ingredients to having a good relationship?

Trust, Space, Attention

Tags:

Leave a Reply

